website statistics

Eu Withdrawal Agreement Bill Programme Motion

By  | 

– in view of the European Council`s guidelines (Article 50) of 29 April 2017, following the notification by the United Kingdom pursuant to Article 50 of the EU TREATY, and the annex to the Council`s decision of 22 May 2017 setting out the guidelines for the negotiation of an agreement with the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland setting out the terms of its withdrawal from the European Union , tabled by Mr. Letwin, Amendment 329-302 was passed and asked the House of Commons to proceed with a number of indicative votes on March 27. Three ministers resigned from the government in support of the amendment: Richard Harrington (Minister of Economy), Alistair Burt (Ministry of Foreign Affairs) and Steve Brine (Health). The Beckett Amendment, tabled by Margaret Beckett, was defeated by 314:311. It would have forced Parliament to vote on a “no deal” Brexit or to ask for an extension of Article 50 if the government were in the absence of an agreement within seven days of leaving the European Union. The modified main request (Letwin, but not Beckett) went 327-300. On the morning of the vote on 12 June 2018, the government rejected Grieve`s alternative amendment. This paved the way for differences of opinion in the debate in the House of Commons on whether Parliament should have a say if the UK left the EU without a deal. [41] [43] In the morning, Phillip Lee`s surprise resignation as a young Conservative minister said: “If I have to look my children in the eye and honestly say that I did my best for them, I cannot, in good conscience, support the way our country will withdraw from the EU.” [44] On 23 October, the House of Commons considered three technical provisions concerning the UK`s withdrawal from the EU. The legislative debate focused on the repeal of certain technical provisions enshrined in British law with regard to the EU. If these three acts were to be voted on, they would only come into force if the UK finally left the EU.

The three points discussed related to changes to existing UK legislation to remove 1) THE EU`s free movement provisions[151][152] [152] 2) the UK`s regulatory oversight by third countries[153] 3) regarding EU-codified financial services. [154] All three amendments were put to a divisive vote and all three passed the vote in the House of Commons. [155] [156] [157] On 12 February 2019, Theresa May made a statement to the House of Commons on the government`s progress in securing a withdrawal agreement. [87] On 14 February, a vote on a amendable motion was held as follows: “Let this House welcome the Prime Minister`s statement of 12 February 2019; reaffirms its support for the approach to leaving the EU expressed by this House on 29 January 2019 and notes that discussions between the UK and the EU on the “backstop” are under way. As a government bill, this first reading was pro forma, with the first debate taking place at second reading. [10] In his statement of 12 February, the Prime Minister reaffirmed his objective of having a second “useful vote” on a withdrawal agreement. She indicated that if this were not the case on February 26, the government would make a new statement to Parliament on the government`s progress and would introduce a amended motion to that declaration, which is expected to be put to a vote on February 27. On the weekend before the amendment was voted on in the House of Commons, the leaders of the United Nations Group on Relations with the European Union signed a statement saying: “Members of all parties have already given valuable control to the EU withdrawal law and we have forced the government to make some concessions. But it won`t matter if we can`t really vote on the withdrawal agreement that the government is negotiating with the European Union. [20] [21] At the end of November 2018, May presented to the House of Commons a draft agreement on future relations with Europe after concluding 17 months of negotiations with the EU. [64] As a result, the first use of the judicious vote was scheduled for December 11, 2018.

[65] Parliamentary votes on Brexit, sometimes in the form of a “useful vote”